Français

Botany

The vanilla plant is a climbing plant of the family Orchidaceae, which requires a lot of care and whose delicate flowers, once pollinated, give fruit, vanilla bean.

Of the 20 000 species that exist in the world, it is the only orchid to produce edible fruits. annual global production is on average 2000 tons and requires knowledge and ability of man to impregnate her. n general, it takes 3 years after planting for the first production, which is about 1 kg of pods per year and for 10 to 15 years.

Its fruit appears as a pod, elongated like a great green bean, lying on clusters called "brushes" of vanilla. Ephemeral and fragile, vanilla plants can produce up to 4 blades per year from July to September, each brush is composed of 10 to 12 cloves.

There are over a hundred different varieties of vanilla:

We offer vanilla is vanilla planifolia, it happens to be the most widespread in the world market. It is also known under the name of vanilla "bourbon". several names have been awarded in the past, the most common:
• Vanillafragans
• Vanillasativa
• Vanillaviridiflora
• Notyliaplanifolia.

The Planifolia is the standard vanilla, all other varieties of vanilla are defined in this comparison. These varieties still present in our shadehouse bio are:

Tahitensis vanilla :
vanilla grown tahiti vanilla category sold very expensive and most often for perfumery.

Vanilla pompona :
variety rarely cultivated because it is of little value in the eyes of buyers.

« The A55 hybrid » :
cross between Tahitensis and Planifolia: type vanilla extremely rare because it is of the highest quality, it contains vanillin rate much higher than average. However its extreme fragility makes production very widespread in the world.

« TsyTetra » :
cross between Planifolia Tahitensis and very resistant, with a rate equal to that of vanillin of Planifolia. His only asset is its force is, however, very little cultivated.

English

Botanique

Le vanillier est une plante grimpante de la famille des orchidacées, qui nécessite énormément de soins et dont les fleurs délicates, une fois fécondées, donneront un fruit, la gousse de vanille.

Parmi les 20 000 espèces existent au monde, elle est la seule orchidée à produire des fruits comestibles. la production annuelle mondiale est en moyenne de 2000 tonnes et nécessite la connaissance et l’habilité de l’homme pour la féconder. En général, il faut attendre les 3 années qui suivent la plantation pour obtenir la première production qui est d’environ 1 kilo de gousses par an et ce pendant 10 à 15 ans.

Son fruit apparait sous forme de gousse, allongée comme un grand haricot vert, se trouvant sur les grappes dit « balais » des vanilliers. Ephémères et fragiles, les plants de vanille peuvent produire jusqu’à 4 balais par an de juillet à septembre, chaque balai étant composé de 10 à 12 gousses.

On compte plus d’une centaine de variétés de vanilles différentes :

La vanille que nous proposons est la vanille planifolia, elle se trouve être la plus répandue sur le marché mondial. On la connait aussi sous le nom de vanille « bourbon ». plusieurs noms lui ont été attribués par le passé, dont les plus courants:
• Vanillafragans
• Vanillasativa
• Vanillaviridiflora
• Notyliaplanifolia.

La Planifolia est la référence en matière de vanille, toutes les autres variétés de vanilles sont définies en comparaison de celle-ci. Ces différentes variétés, encore présente au sein de notre ombrière bio sont:

La vanille Tahitensis :
la vanille cultivée à tahiti, catégorie de vanille vendue très chère et le plus souvent destinée à la parfumerie.

La vanille Pompona :
variété rarement cultivée car elle représente très peu de valeur aux yeux des acheteurs.

« L’hybride A55 » :
croisement entre la Tahitensis et la Planifolia : type de vanille extrêmement rare car il s’agit de la meilleure qualité, elle renferme un taux de vanilline beaucoup plus important que la moyenne. Cependant son extrême fragilité rend sa production très peu répandue dans le monde.

« TsyTetra » :
croisement entre la Planifolia et la Tahitensis, très résistante, avec un taux de vanilline égal à celui de la Planifolia. Son seul atout étant sa vigueur elle est cependant très peu cultivée.