Français

History

Vanilla passion

Vanilla was discovered in Mexico and reported by the French court of King in 1604. Reported in Spain by Cortés in the early nineteenth century, it will be marketed until the eighteenth century.

Many vanilla plants reported by Cortés never produce pods because it lacked essential to fertilization: the endemic bees of Mexico, the stingless bees. They could sneak into the corolla of the orchid to deposit pollen on the pistil. For nearly two centuries scholars worldwide tried unsuccessfully to fertilize the plant.

In 1841, a young slave, Edmond Albius, have succeeded for the first time to fertilize artificially the vanilla. However, although the single impregnation process was discovered, it does not allow itself to obtain a good quality product. The islanders have progressively developed and perfected the method of preparation of vanilla.

Very quickly, the process extends to the neighboring island Madagascar.It is in the late nineteenth century that the first vanilla plants are planted by French settlers from the meeting. Since Madagascar is the undisputed market leader in terms of volume of production and in terms of product quality.

English

Notre produit - historique

La passion vanille

La vanille fut découverte au Mexique puis rapportée par les français à la cour du Roi en 1604. Rapportée en Espagne par Cortés au début du XVI èmesiécle, elle ne sera commercialisée qu’à partir du XVIIIème siècle.

Les nombreux plants de vanille rapportés par Cortés ne produiront jamais de gousse car il manquait un élément essentiel à leur fécondation : les abeilles endémiques du Mexique, les mélipones. Celles-ci pouvaient se faufiler dans la corolle de l’orchidée pour déposer le pollen sur le pistil. Pendant près de deux siècles des savants du monde entier tentèrent sans succès de féconder la plante.

En 1841, un jeune esclave, Edmond ALBIUS, aurait réussi pour la première fois à féconder de manière artificielle le vanillier. Cependant, bien que l’unique procédé de fécondation ait été découvert, ce dernier ne permettait pas à lui seul d’obtenir un produit de bonne qualité. Les habitants de l’île ont ainsi progressivement développé et perfectionné le procédé de préparation de la vanille.

Très vite, le procédé s’étend à l’île voisine : Madagascar. C’est à la fin du XIXème siècle que les premiers plants de vanilles y sont plantés par les colons français venus de la Réunion. Depuis Madagascar est le leader incontesté du marché tant en termes de volume de production qu’en terme de qualité du produit.